10 Reasons Why I Still Love Sex and the City

   

1.  Mr. Big.  *Sigh*  I don’t know what it is with this man, but I love him.  He’s such an ass, but he’s vulnerable too.  He loves Cary. Not to mention, he’s so…. classic. *Sigh*


2. Carrie and Big Moments.Heart-wrenching. Lovely. Lovable. AW! 🙂

   3. It’s insightful. Believe it or not, SATC points out some important issues.  Sex, gender relations, love, marriage, relationships, etc. It brings up questions that people are sometimes afraid to bring up.

   4. It’s educational. I know, I know, it’s a weird point, but it’s true.  I’ve learned a lot about sex, relationships, and myself by watching this.  For example, I didn’t know that a lot of things were possible, or that people did certain things, sexually, until I watched this show. Also, I had no idea how an adult relationship is maintained (I know that it’s on TV though. I don’t think everything’s real. But it still has at least an echo of truth). As for what I learned about myself:  It’s amazing what you learn about yourself by watching different situations occur.  I learned what my limits are, what I think is important in a relationship, how much I empathize with certain situations, and how much I disapprove of other situations.  Learning by observation. Fun stuff.
   5. The Supporting Characters. Seriously, how can you not love Stanford, Anthony, Skipper, and everyone else? I mean, seriously?!


   6. It encourages open mindedness. It’s set in NYC.  Talk about diversity. They interact with all types of people from all walks of life.  Their lives may be completely and totally different than yours.  Yet, if you actually watch it, you start to care about those characters.  You realize, “Wow. These are people too, no matter how different they are.”  To me, this is an important message.  Some people can’t get over their prejudices, or the feeling that people who don’t share their viewpoints are evil somehow (*cough*my parents *cough*), but I think it’s important to see how people who live a different life than you can still be good, or can still be nice.
   7. Shopping. Ok, so I’m girly.  Sue me (please don’t).  I love shopping.  I’m more of a bargain shopper, but I still love certain brands (Burberry *sigh*).  I think everyone’s dreamed of being able to walk into those fancy stores in NYC and just buy (and wear) whatever they want.  The girls in SATC live a fantasy life, full of big paychecks, gorgeous clothes, tons of shoes, and awesome apartments. Watching SATC is like window-shopping for a fantasy life.


   8. The men are hot. Ok, so there are some guys who aren’t that attractive.  But you can’t tell me The Absolut Hunk isn’t GORGEOUS.

Mr. Big *sigh* is gorgeous in his own way.  Aiden is all rugged and manly, and Steve is like a cute little Teddy Bear (with a pronounced New York accent).

Then, there are the temporary men.  Let’s face it, it’s nice seeing some attractive men.


   9. The friendship. Honestly, this is one of the best parts of SATC.  You see this friendship: four women with all of their problems, in one of the harshest, busiest cities somehow find a way to comfort, support, and love each other.  It remind me of my friends.  I actually have a group of four friends, and it’s amazing to see how similar my friend group is with the one on SATC.  They’re stressed, they can’t see each other all the time, their lives are so crazy, but whenever they’re together, they’re fine. It’s heartwarming and fantastic.  In the end, SATC isn’t so much about sex and romance as it is about how this great friend group can survive through thick and thin.

10. You can watch it again and again.  Seriously, no matter how many times I watch it, I still laugh at the embarrassing moments, cry when Carrie and Big break up, and cry tears of joy when they finally get together.  It’s just a good story, and good stories never get old.

//

//

//

//

//

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. leighkgb02
    Jul 18, 2012 @ 16:19:28

    1. All very excellent points. But you know I know and approve of this. 🙂
    2. Because your first two posts were about “Sex and the City” and PIE, I’ve nominated you for the One Lovely Blog Award. 🙂 Keep being awesome.

    Leigh.

    Reply

  2. whatetdidnext
    Jul 25, 2012 @ 23:54:31

    You aren’t alone in your love for Big. My friend thinks he’s a dick but there is just something about him you can’t help but love! Im re-watching the series for the second time this year, I just love it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

